Biggin Hall History...
Biggin Hall is a Grade II* listed building standing on ancient land, and dating back to around 1620. It is noted by English Heritage as a 'dwelling of architectural and/or historic interest'. The star suffix denotes a particularly fine example of a building within its class and is applied to less than three percent of listed buildings.
At the time of the great Domesday survey of 1086, Biggin Hall belonged to a mighty Norman baron, Henry de Ferrers, and was first used as a 'bercarie' or sheep range of the kind. It boasts a wealth of period features including mullioned windows, a baffle entrance, stone-flagged floors and a tall projecting turret staircase to the rear. The fireplace featured in the lounge is dated 1672.
Biggin Hall has since been renovated and extended under its current owner who has, over the past three decades, turned the hall into a 21 bedroom hotel. The new management team has raised the standards of service so Biggin Hall is now an AA three-star hotel, with an AA rosette for culinary excellence.